Air power for stationary engines.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reabo

Reaction score
Hi, I am totally new to steam models so have probably a really basic question. I want to build a grasshopper beam engine, what I want to know is can this be powered by compressed air or do I need a boiler? If I need a boiler will Tubal Cain's Polly or Elizabeth boiler be enough or will I need something bigger? I want to build the engine first, get it running then build the boiler. I have the skills to do the machining, building etc but not the knowledge for model steam engines/boilers.

They will run on compressed air. Most are actually designed to run on compressed air.

Hi, Reabo, I have built a couple of Elmer's wobblers (a #25 and an H-Twin were my first ever engines! when I was starting out) I ran them on air and it worked great. In the end I was lucky enough to get my hands on an airbrush compressor which was absolutely ideal for the task as it was near silent and had plenty of puff to run the models (I think the compressor innards come from a refrigerator so are all inside an oil bath for sound proofing). I highly recommend.

-Patrick

Hi, Reabo, I have built a couple of Elmer's wobblers (a #25 and an H-Twin were my first ever engines! when I was starting out) I ran them on air and it worked great. In the end I was lucky enough to get my hands on an airbrush compressor which was absolutely ideal for the task as it was near silent and had plenty of puff to run the models (I think the compressor innards come from a refrigerator so are all inside an oil bath for sound proofing). I highly recommend.

-Patrick
Actually, depending on the scale you might need a compressor can pump a bit more volume. The Grasshopper seems a lot bigger than the small Elmers wobblers