Adding Vernier Caliper to indicate lathe saddle travel

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
I have never been able to depend on the accuracy of the travel indicator dial on my lathe saddle. It always gets me close, but only close. If I build my "oscillating engine", I have to bore the cylinder to a very precise depth. The travel on my tailstock spindle is only 1 3/8" which is not enough. The cylinder will have to be bored with a boring tool held in the toolpost on my compound rest. For many years now I have thought about adding a Vernier caliper to my lathe to act as a poor man's DRO.----But----I didn't want to disassemble the cross slide to start drilling and tapping attachment points to it. This morning I studied on it for a while, and decided the tapped holes which hold the way-wipers would work for what I want to do, and still be able to hold the way wiper. So----First a hand sketch and some head scratching.

Last edited:
And then into a "to scale" printed off profile, glued to a cardboard backing and tried on for size to see if it is what I want--

Last edited:
So far, so good. That seems to hold the Vernier in a very stable manner. Now to figure out a mount for the other end.

I will have to soon make the radiator for my Howell V4, there are literally hundreds of fins on the 1/2" square brass core to cut. I was wondering what method I should use for spacing them out. The hand wheel on the saddle isn't good enough, so Brian's method is one idea, but I may still consider buying a dial gauge with a long travel. I recall, years ago, seeing a turner that had a dial gauge type of thing that had a wheel that ran along the ways on the lathe, just had to be aware of the revolutions that it did.

Paul.

Reactions: gus