A couple of lathe questions

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

njl

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to machining and joined the forum the other day. I have subsequently added a few pictures of my machines to my welcome post if anyone who asked for pictures wants to see them, they are there now.

My lathe is a Colchester student 1800. It is an imperial machine. When I bought the machine it didn't come with a manual but I subsequently found one on ebay. It seems to fit pretty well with my machine and shows two thread indicators an imperial one and a metric one. My machine is fitted with the following indicator which the manual shows as a metric type.

thread.jpg

Inside it has a range of gear wheels available for different threads. It turns OK when the lead screw turns so the teeth mesh OK with the imperial lead screw but is it correct to have a metric indicator on an imperial machine? Currently I'm doing all my threading keeping the half nuts engaged and reversing the tool after each pass. I sort of assumed an imperial machine would have an imperial indicator and a metric machine a metric indicator or does this type of indicator do for both imperial and metric threads?

This brings me on to my second question. The second photo shows the brake peddle on the machine.

brake.jpg