3020 CNC routing machine and Mach 3

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ilkleyal

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new here

Edited as I initially termed this a miller which caused some debate :eek:

Just bought one of these, it should arrive in the next week or so.

Yes, its Chinese and I'm taking a gamble but I am prepared to fix what needs fixing (if anything)

I'm a time served CNC machinist and keen model maker/Flyer so am looking forward to making this little device sing.

Bought to machine airframe components in Balsa/Ply/CF/Aly and so on.

If they are OK, I may well consider bulk buying and offering them in an improved form to the UK market

I will be in touch with an update when I have it installed.

Al

machine.jpg

It's a router, not a milling machine.

John Stevenson said:
It's a router, not a milling machine.

Bit negative of you

Actually, its capable of rotating a tool, has x y and z axis and can mill 3D shapes, I take the view that a "router" is simply a lightly constructed milling machine which it is of course.

its never going to take a 5mm cut in Aly at 40,000 revs and 20 metres a min

It will be used for mostly 2 d work, yes, and as such you might call it a router but it can and will in my hands be used as a milling/drilling machine. So there.......

Bit aggressive for a third post...

Anyway if you look at your picture that you posted it clearly states "CNC Router"
Kind of gives it away...

These are sold as firstly CNC routers and engravers, capable of milling 3D parts.
Generally used for making signs etc with relief so that the words stand out.
Capable of 7cm of vertical travel with a smallish table.
Capable of 0.05mm repeatability, not too bad if it can keep it up constantly.
Not too sure of how rigid the machine is but it should be fine for woods and plastics.