1/4 Galloway Hit and Miss engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marksavoca

Reaction score
Here is my build of a 1/4 scale Galloway Hit and Miss engine based on Ministeam castings. I am a hobby machinist and welcome all feedback. I try to capture my setups and approach for each step. I started a few weeks ago, so I'm going to catch you all up in the next few posts. I'm also new to this forum, so I apologize in advance if I break any rules or not follow convention.

The kit:
IMG_2760 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

It is much larger than my previous engine, Little Brother by Paul Breish:
IMG_2776 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

I got started by machining the bottom of the base flat. I used a combination of mill vice and clamping to hold the base measuring up from the table to get even end-to-end.

IMG_2882

You can see that a machined around the clamps, moved them and finished up.
IMG_2888

I started by cleaning up the edges to create a surface to clamp.

IMG_2941 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

Using some parallels I put it back in the vise to machine the top edges.
IMG_2942 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

IMG_2945 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

Now I can flip it over and surface the bottom. Again using parallels to keep it flat.
IMG_2947 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

Once it was surfaced, I machined the lip that will eventually keep the bearing centered.

IMG_2957 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

Using a combination of the vice and clamps, and a 30 degree wedge, the base was prepared for machining the bearing surfaces.

IMG_2965 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

I machined them to match the bearing caps. You will notice that because I did not narrow the caps yet, they interfere with the base.
IMG_2978 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr

So I put the caps back in the vise and cut down the one side. Now it sits in place. IMG_2985 by Mark Savoca, on Flickr