Home Model Engine Machinist > Building Them > Questions and Answers > warco variable speed lathe
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2009, 11:13 AM   #1
kendo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default warco variable speed lathe

Hi Guys
I have been toying with the idea of getting a warco wm 280-F variable speed lathe. As it has metric & imperial screw cutting capabilities also it has reverse for left hand screw cutting.plus many more features.
I believe Weiss produce the same lathe. Does anyone have any experience of these lathes, ie are they good or poor quality? Or any other pro's and cons i should be aware off.
Any input from you guys greatly appreciated.
Cheers Ken



__________________
kendo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2009, 06:40 PM   #2
Maryak
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
Maryak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,001
Liked 136 Times on 121 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Send a message via ICQ to Maryak
Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

Ken,

I am very happy with my Chinese origin lathe, only comment I have is the claimed thread cutting both metric and imperial. If it has a metric lead screw, the imperial threads, (in my case), are only approximations in the finer pitches, with the change wheels supplied.

If this is important to you check out the attached error chart.

Hope this helps.

Best Regards
Bob



Attached Files
File Type: pdf Hafco Change wheels.pdf (11.5 KB, 344 views)
__________________

Its hard to remember your objective was to drain the swamp when your up to your neck in alligators.Если вы у Тетушки были яйца, она была бы Дядюшкой

Maryak is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2009, 07:22 PM   #3
Jasonb
Project of the Month Winner!!!
 
Jasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 1,806
Liked 287 Times on 165 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

I've had a WM280VF for about 18months now and am generally very pleased with it. They, like most of the other far eastern machines are a little rough around the edges but the quality of work that can be done on them is very good. Its also a quiet machine when running.

Like most variable speed machines they can lack torque in the lower speeds when you start to machine larger diameters, I had a couple of 9" iron castings for my traction engine and a depth of cut of more than 0.025 would start to stall the motor. Having said that I could run at a faster speed than my prevoius Emco (Austrian quality) lathe so the job was no slower. Chucks can be a bit fiddly to change if you have fat fingers.

The power cross feed is very handy and I would not consider another lathe without it. I was cutting a 1/4"x16 square thread today which came out nicely, have not done any metric threads on my imperial machine so not sure how far off they will be.

Pete on here has one of the Weiss machines. There are a couple of other suppliers that do a version of this lathe in the UK, just watch as some don't include 4jaw, faceplate and steadies in the price like Warco do

Couple of pics of it in action




Jason

__________________
Jasonb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2009, 09:25 AM   #4
kendo
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 138
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

Hi Again
Thanks Jason and Bob for your replies,they have been a great help.
One of the reasons which made think about Warco,was the fact their lathes come with the extras such as four jawed chuck, face Plate and so on.
Nice to hear from someone who has a warco and is pleased with the quality of work it can produce.
I will be getting in touch with warco just after the New Year and placing my order with them.
May even Post some pics of the ceremonial un-crating Ha Ha.
Love the pictures posted and what looks like the Steve Bedair's radius cutter,
something i will hope to make myself soon.
Once Again cheers guys, and would like to take this opportunity to wish you
A Very Happy New Year and All the Best For The Future
Ken

__________________
kendo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2009, 05:00 PM   #5
GrahamC
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 80
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

Good day Ken,

I don't have a Warco lathe and I am not sure what Jason refers to "as big thumbs making chuck changes a bit fiddly" as I don't know how the chucks are mounted on this particular lathe.

If the chucks are mounted the same way as they are on my lathe ( a Busy Bee 10x22 size which is similar to the Warco you mentioned) and they are held on with 3 socket head bolts rather than on a threaded register, then my solution to this fiddly bit about changing chucks can be seen here:

http://madmodder.net/index.php?topic=2372.msg24948#msg24948

I replaced the socket head bolts with some shop made bits and now instead of taking 15+ minutes of fiddling and usually a bit of cussing, I can now change chucks in less than 5 minutes.

I had a look at Warco's web site but didn't see any info on how the chucks where mounted but it does like a good choice for a lathe and in many respects quite similar to mine. Before I bought this lathe I spent some time looking closely at one of the typical 9x20 size lathes and the one I bought. The 10x22 size lathes are literally twice the lathe the 9x20 are. I have seen much very good work done with the smaller ones but I realized that I would not be happy with the smaller 9x20 and since I didn't have the room for the larger 12x36 size lathes the 10x22 was the obvious choice.

I like your Avatar. Is that your bike?

cheers, Graham in Ottawa Canada


__________________

Change is the only true constant, all others are just approximations.

GrahamC is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2009, 05:56 PM   #6
Jasonb
Project of the Month Winner!!!
 
Jasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 1,806
Liked 287 Times on 165 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

The chucks fit in a similar way. They have three M8 studs in the backplate and use nuts & washers to retain them onto the flange. Grahams method would not be possible as there is only about a 10mm space between headstock and the back of the flange so you could not fit bolts in.

The bigger issue is that the chuck backplates register on a 10mm long parallel spigot and are a very firm fit particularly on the 3jaw. You have to use the 3 nuts to effectively jack the chuck of by turning then one or two flats at a time against a brass packer. I can manage the nuts OK as I have small hands but actually removing and pulling the replacement chuck on is what takes the time. I assume the 3jaw is made a bit tighter as this is the one that needs to be concentric, and it is quite true for a 3jaw.

Pic of the spindle nose, lathe stripped to make it lighter to get up onto the stand


Jason

__________________
Jasonb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2009, 08:31 PM   #7
GrahamC
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 80
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

Yes indeed Jason, that looks like a pretty tight space to try and get my big fat fingers into.

Sounds like changing chucks is something you don't want to do very often or at least makes you think far enough ahead to plan your work to minimize the changes.

Still, looks like a pretty nice lathe.

cheers, Graham

__________________

Change is the only true constant, all others are just approximations.

GrahamC is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 04:04 AM   #8
jimmyocharlie
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

if you are going to need power at low revs, go for a DC motor rather than an AC one.

Sieg now do their C6 lathe with both types, the difference will be a lot at low speed

__________________
 
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 06:40 AM   #9
Jasonb
Project of the Month Winner!!!
 
Jasonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 1,806
Liked 287 Times on 165 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

The Warco does have a 1000w DC motor.

Its only on large diameters which you need to run at lower speeds that it can be stalled, at 1" dia it will take a 0.100" depth of cut in steel.

Jason

__________________
Jasonb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2009, 05:30 PM   #10
AlasdairM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 37
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Re: warco variable speed lathe

Re - changing chucks and face plate on Warco lathes

I have the Warco BV-20 lathe, and found it a real pain to change chucks/face plate, as the 3-jaw, 4-jaw and face plate all used the caphead screws which were very fiddly to take out and put in, in the incredibly limited space.

I followed what others have done (I cannot remember which sites in particular, but it seems quite a common thing to do) and simply cut the heads off some M8 bolts of a suitable length and fixed these to the chucks and face plate - I used cyano but others may prefer loctite. A suitable size washer and hex nuts finish the job.

Now putting on the lathe or taking them off is a piece of cake and takes only a minute or so, rather than 5+ minutes.

Pictures below hopefully show what I am babbling on about!!

Regards, A

PS am pleased with my choice of machine as well.



Attached Thumbnails
4-jaw chuck.JPG   Face plate.JPG   3-jaw on lathe.JPG  
__________________

Living in Cambridge, UK - Just started model engineering, and absolutely loving it!

AlasdairM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lathe for sale ( Super Adept ) Variable speed control 4 jaw chuck 1953longrangesniper Buy / Sell / Trade / eBay 3 02-04-2012 09:32 PM
variable speed motor on a myford firebird Machine Modifications 18 01-01-2012 06:10 PM
AC VFD vs. DC Variable Speed Chazz Questions and Answers 3 05-20-2010 05:24 PM
Speed going variable? Loss of torque? zeeprogrammer Questions and Answers 22 01-01-2010 08:17 PM
Changing from AC to variable speed DC motor Foozer Machine Modifications 33 02-23-2009 12:13 PM




- Top - Member List