Project of the Month built by driller1432

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Home Model Engine Machinist > Showing Them > A Work In Progress > It is a start...

Old 12-04-2012, 01:53 AM   #1
MrBaz
Hobbyist

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default It is a start...

So, as my intro post explains, I have no experience making model engines. I'm working on my BS as a MechE, so I have no problems diving in head first. I'm making all the parts in Inventor first. I'm posting my work/thoughts here for constructive criticism. I will warn you ahead of time, many of my ideas/plans may seem odd or uncomon for what I'm building first. Just give me the pros/cons instead of turning it into a flame war.

The Idea:
I eventually want to work on making a supercharged V12 (similar to the Artus V12 from Germany). For now, I'm going to make a 4-stroke, 2-cylinder opposed engine. The idea is to actually use this on a scale model aircraft (so it has to work). I'll be experimenting on production techniques on this 2-cylinder for experience/ideas on the much bigger V12.

The plan is to run pure methanol with a manual mix of pure nitromethane (not the mixed 'nitro' from hobby shops). Oil control is separate, and pressurized/forced/whatever-have-you. This should allow me to run high compression with slight supercharging.

So first up, the piston design. So far, 1in diameter dished piston. Two rings (will be fine-grained iron - Tremble method). I'm still debating on an oil control ring.

Thoughts?

larry1 Likes This 
Old 12-04-2012, 02:20 AM   #2
Cogsy

Liked 486 Times on 378 Posts
Likes Given: 475

I'm too new at this to be able to offer any thoughts, but I can tell you that we don't do 'flame wars' here. I'm sure you'll get lots of feedback and help though

Good luck with your build!

Old 12-04-2012, 02:56 AM   #3
trumpy81

Liked 53 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 1