Project of the Month built by mirek111

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Home Model Engine Machinist > Showing Them > Photos and Videos > How to post a video

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2007, 05:53 AM   #1
tattoomike68
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 630
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default How to post a video

First off you must be logged in to see the videos, I wish guest could see them but there is some limitations in the forum software I cant seem to get around.

This is the code for youtube. just change the URL part http://www.youtube.com/v/ghF7njMgZgs

Code:
<embed src="http&#58;//www.youtube.com/v/ghF7njMgZgs" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
CNC CHESS PAWN LATHE
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ghF7njMgZgs" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

For an .MPG video use this code. Again just change the url to that of the video.
Code:
<embed src="http&#58;//www.rake60.com/photogallery/Poppin_Cold_Start.mpeg" autoplay="false" hidden="false" loop="false" type="application/mediaplayer" wmode="transparent" width="350" heigth="425"></embed>
Poppin_Cold_Start
<embed src="http://www.rake60.com/photogallery/Poppin_Cold_Start.mpeg" autoplay="false" hidden="false" loop="false" type="application/mediaplayer" wmode="transparent" width="350" heigth="425"></embed>

To post a google video..
Code:
<embed src="http&#58;//video.google.com/googleplayer.swf?docId=-4305437398253075476&hl=en" quality="high" pluginspage="http&#58;//www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"></embed>
chuck rhoades Snow engine
<embed src="http://video.google.com/googleplayer.swf?docId=-4305437398253075476&hl=en" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="350"></embed>

I know it may be greek to some of you so if you need help with a video just ask.


tattoomike68 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 02:09 PM   #2
AllThumbs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 213
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Default Re: How to post a video

I am pretty good with computers and it seems the suggested code above for showing a Youtube video does not work. I used all the code in the box and replced the url with an url to my video. The resulting post just has all the text of the code with the url to the video within it.

Here is what I mean as I paste the code:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9n6udK6ISE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>

What am I doing wrong?

Eric


__________________
Accuracy is adjusting the second part to compensate for an error in the first....
AllThumbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 03:10 PM   #3
rake60
HMEM_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
rake60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,769
Liked 220 Times on 195 Posts

Default Re: How to post a video

Hello Eric

To embed a youtube video, just paste the URL into the post.
The software will do the rest for you.

For your link:
Code:
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9n6udK6ISE" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed>
You would just paste the
Code:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n9n6udK6ISE
And it will embed the video:

Rick
__________________
Seriously, how many times can THAT happen in one day?
rake60 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 03:17 PM   #4
AllThumbs
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 213
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Default Re: How to post a video

Good thinking, thanks. I did try the YouTube button but made the fatal mistake of adding the whole url in there.
__________________
Accuracy is adjusting the second part to compensate for an error in the first....
AllThumbs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 02:49 AM   #5
tattoomike68
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 630
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Re: How to post a video

Ok a new code mod has been added.

Just paste the url of the video , no tags needed.

the url...
Code:
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=6696678871575115775&q=lathe&total=1467&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=2
makes the video just post with no hassle.

http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...arch&plindex=2
tattoomike68 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 03:27 AM   #6
zeusrekning
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 448
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Default Re: How to post a video

Sorry for being off topic. But what is that machine in Reply #4? I used to run a Miyano BNE. I thought it had fast tool index! I love how much clearance there is between the tooling and spindle.
__________________
"The superior man is modest in his speech, but exceeds in his actions."
zeusrekning is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 03:37 AM   #7
tattoomike68
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 630
Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Re: How to post a video

Its a GTV CNC Lathe w/ C-Axis Demo at EASTEC

http://www.cubicmachinery.com/gtv/gtv.html
tattoomike68 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 03:50 AM   #8
Divided He ad
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 549
Liked 36 Times on 36 Posts

Default Re: How to post a video

Hi, sorry to be a newbie pain in the rear, but... i can't get my 'tube' link thingy to work?
Do you put it into the attach bit?
For that matter am I suppose to select 'new topic' button to tell you the sad story of my first attempt?
this may be simple to most people? But it's now 3.46am and I still can't even get a new topic to post without attaching anything?!?(my brain hurts! )
I'm doing as well on the computer this weekend as I am in the workshop! sometimes it all goes off at once!
__________________
If we all played nice the world would be a happier place.... So would the interweb!!!
Divided He ad is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:35 AM   #9
Bogstandard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: How to post a video

DH,

I don't want to tread on anyones toes here, but I used to have a s**tload of trouble getting things to show properly. So if you can squint a bit to see the grotty pics, this is how I now do it.

The first thing I do is open up a notepad doc on my desktop. This is used to store all the URL's that I have gathered for doing the post. I space them apart a bit so when it is all copied and pasted into here, I don't have trouble finding where to put my text.




Go to youtube and get the URL (not the one for embedding) for your vid, and pop it into the notepad.




I do the same with photobucket. Just click on it and it will automatically be copied, then again paste into your notepad.
About pictures, if you can, try to keep them to a size that can be viewed easily on the web page without having to scroll about to view it. I tend to stick with 8" x6". The ones on here are a total lash up, because they were all different sizes from the screen capture software, but I have managed to keep them on the viewing area.




Go to the MEMS home page and select the heading where you want to do your post.




Once into the heading, go to the link bar shown and select new topic.




Once there, give it a heading, keep it simple or humorous.
Cut and paste from your notepad the whole lot.
If you can read the text on here, it does explain a little bit about embedding.




You can press the preview button as often as you like to see how your text, piccies and vids match up. It is all embedded automatically for you, just put the URL's in and the proggy will take care of the rest. Do a spell check at the end, and it will give suggestions if you have made any mistakes.





Once you are completely happy with it, just press the POST button.

To bring pics directly in from your computer is a slightly different system, and in my mind I prefer to go the photobucket route. You have to go to the link at the bottom saying 'Additional Options', go to 'browse' and find the pic you want to upload, there are limitations to this, like max file size and quantity. But if you want to show a bigger pic to allow members to see finer detail, then this would be the way to go. It won't show up on the preview, but will show when you 'Post'.

I hope this has helped you to show us what you are up to.

John


 
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:48 AM   #10
Divided He ad
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 549
Liked 36 Times on 36 Posts

Default Re: How to post a video

John,

Thank you very much, I was trying to figure this out for hours last night!
I'm going to give it a try now and see what happens

Ralph.

(not too sure about the acronym DH... could be for something else to do with a head!!.... serves me right for trying to be smart with my user ID eh? )


__________________
If we all played nice the world would be a happier place.... So would the interweb!!!
Divided He ad is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a Post Davo J General Engine Discussion 0 07-03-2011 03:15 AM
Video Post Help ironman General Engine Discussion 1 01-15-2010 06:44 PM
To post Video ironman Photos and Videos 0 01-15-2010 06:32 PM
First Post... MikeR C Introduction 12 11-08-2009 07:54 AM
Help!! I have an excellent video of my engine and its too big to post. Brian Rupnow General Engine Discussion 8 07-11-2008 07:03 AM



Newest Threads






- Top - Member List