Project of the Month built by driller1432

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Home Model Engine Machinist > Building Them > General Engine Discussion > Gear cutting from scratch

Old 10-27-2017, 03:52 AM   #1
Moper361

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Gear cutting from scratch

Hi All hope it's a good day for you all

I am in the throws of working out bits and pieces for small engine I plan to build ,I have come to the area of timing gears .I am not following any build plans for this project but have worked out I require the shaft centres to be approx 55 mm apart this is crank centre line and cam centreline this is for sufficient Conroy clearance ,and require 2 to 1 ratio .

I have never done gear cutting before ,I do have a universal indexing head on my mill with a direct plate with 24 holes and I do have dividing plates for it that I think I can work with .

My problem is I have absolutaly no idea on how to work out what cutters I require etc ,I would like information on what to buy to carry out this task what pitch and what number cutters that would be usable to cut gears for this task .
I am also a dunce when it comes to maths I was a practical kid not an academic 😞.I would like to purchase some cutters and an arbor online whilst I am away at work so as when I return I can practice the concept of cutting gears and get some experience .

I will read as much as I can on the subject whilst I am away and try my best to get some ideas on the calculations etc but a bit of help at the start on equipment for this task would be greatly appreciated until I am upto speed .

Regards Nat

Old 10-27-2017, 09:48 AM   #2
Moper361

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Is this remotely correct ?

I have been racking my brain all day on working out involuted gear cutters with what I can find online

This is what I have come up with on my calculations please correct me if I an not correct