Project of the Month built by Stefan-K
Home Model Engine Machinist > The Tools and Tips > Metals > cooling slots in aluminium problems

Old 10-16-2016, 12:43 PM   #1
pmdevlin

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default cooling slots in aluminium problems

Hi all,

I have been asked to cut cooling slots in a small cylinder head from a rc plane engine. The slots will create the fins to aid cooling.

I am using 1.5mm cutters on my siege xl mill, and they are 4mm in depth.

I'm a bit of a novice, so we agreed for me to practise on scrap alloy, see how it looks, then if all agreed attack the cylinder head. The problems are these:

I have snapped 3 cutters, now on the last one, I am using a medium speed with no lube/cooling to prevent swarf from sticking to the cutter. I am told the aluminium is T2, this info means nothing to me !

The cutter where just cheap things, should I but a specific type (not expensive as I am on a tight budget) what speed should I be using, slow or fast (sorry no means on measuring rpm) and should I be using a cooling fluid?

With regard to the job, I don't have any digital measuring scales so its pretty much by eye, is there any way I can manually determine the distance between cuts, I cant seem to get these the same, even when following a careful measurement marked on the metal

Many thanks

Paul

Old 10-16-2016, 01:00 PM   #2
Brian Rupnow
Project of the Month Winner!!!

Liked 3430 Times on 2872 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Use spray on WD40 and keep it wet while cutting the slots. Run the lathe at about 120 rpm. Make sure the tip of the tool is exactly at center height.--Sorry Paul--I thought you were doing this on a lathe. If you are doing it in a mill, then if the cylinder is round you are going to need rotary table. If it is square or rectangular, then yes, the slitting saw is best. In fact, if it is being done in a mill at all, a slitting saw if the correct tool to use.

Old 10-16-2016, 01:52 PM   #3
purpleknif

Liked 38 Times on 36 Posts