Project of the Month built by mayhugh1

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Home Model Engine Machinist > CNC and 3-D Printers > CNC Machines and Conversions > Enco (Rong Fu RF30) Mill/Drill Conversion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2013, 11:58 PM   #41
stevehuckss396
Senior Member
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
stevehuckss396's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 3,724
Liked 933 Times on 628 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

What about taking a piece of wire from the angle to the motor to bond them together? Would that work?


stevehuckss396 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:04 AM   #42
canadianhorsepower
 
canadianhorsepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,575
Liked 293 Times on 233 Posts
Likes Given: 1393

Default

Sure but a capacitor is always your best freind when you do this
I usualy use a 220 micro.
someone would say its an over kill
but I"m the type of guy that prefer to smell bug repelent then being
bite by one of them


__________________
Luc

"if you dont stand for something
you will fall for everything"
canadianhorsepower is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:50 AM   #43
cfellows
Project of the Month Winner!!!
 
cfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,876
Liked 755 Times on 484 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

So how does electronic noise show up? What does it affect? If I use a capacitor, what do I hook the two ends to?

Chuck
cfellows is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:30 AM   #44
canadianhorsepower
 
canadianhorsepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,575
Liked 293 Times on 233 Posts
Likes Given: 1393

Default

Chuck having long wires does make electromagnetic feild
and if you would put a scope on your line instead of have a nice
square wave you would have some ripples in it. CNC use TTL
voltage is o-.8 volts and 2 to vcc their should be no response in between
by having some noise in your circuit you could send a LO signal under .8
but your noise can bring it up to1 volt this would really destroy the accuraci
of your program
hope I explained it clearly
cheers

Luc
__________________
Luc

"if you dont stand for something
you will fall for everything"
canadianhorsepower is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 03:50 PM   #45
cfellows
Project of the Month Winner!!!
 
cfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,876
Liked 755 Times on 484 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Thanks, Luc, would you recommend that I shorten the leads between the motor and the connector or is better to keep the wires longer and just loop them out as far from the motor as possible?

Thx...
Chuck
cfellows is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 04:35 PM   #46
dieselpilot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,274
Liked 107 Times on 96 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Wait, which TTL signal is being sent down the stepper phase wires or near them? Unless you are in fact running encoder or limit signal wires along with the stepper leads, there is little to consider. If the stepper leads aren't twisted and shielded there will be noise, so make sure any signal wires are twisted and shielded. In an industrial application the motor would have a connector built into the case and proper shielded grounded cables. Any noise from the steppers and leads would be fed into the stepper drive and it should be designed to handle it unless it's so bad voltage induced in the motor wires exceeds the voltage limit of the drive, and it's already designed to handle that. BTW, the motor iron should contain virtually all of the flux from it's coils. If it does not, it's junk. At full current, the most it should pick up is a paperclip.

It seems the regulated switching power supply is the easy answer. Add some (a lot) capacitance if it's not rated for such duty. I'm really surprised that 10 years down the road of homebuilt CNC the power supply question still comes up. If you want to cobble one together the linear supply is easy, but if you're buying anyway what's the difference?
dieselpilot is offline  
geoff p Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 01:35 AM   #47
canadianhorsepower
 
canadianhorsepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,575
Liked 293 Times on 233 Posts
Likes Given: 1393

Default

Thanks, Luc, would you recommend that I shorten the leads between the motor and the connector

Yes that is the best practice always try to keep any wires as short as possible.If you can put your power supply in the same box then your stepper motor controler is even better.Many people uses a computer case to do so, having many fans to keep the temperature down will make thing even better.

Sheilding the wires is a must, twist the wires together "like a women would braids her air" and not the way man twisted wires. after that I usualy use spay glue all over the wire and rap them in foil paper previously cut in 2nch wide strip about a foot long then put a heat shrink and heated up and do this for all the bables.
It could sound like a long process YES but you will love that CNC for a LONG TIME

I would still use capacitors across the terminal of the stepper motor

Like I said before I prefer to smell bug repelent then being bit by one

But I was wright someone tryes to say I'm wrong, OMG some people need a big ego to live

enjoy your build

Cheers
Luc
__________________
Luc

"if you dont stand for something
you will fall for everything"
canadianhorsepower is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 04:11 AM   #48
cfellows
Project of the Month Winner!!!
 
cfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,876
Liked 755 Times on 484 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I revised the connector mounts. Hopefully these will be a little stronger and will be less prone to induced noise.



The motors are all wired now and the cables are finished. Next I need to find a DB25 cable and two timing belts for the X/Y drives.



I also revised the X-axis motor mount.



It now has a sliding adjustment with two 3/8" bolts to secure it. Don't think that's going to slip on me...

Chuck
cfellows is offline  
larry1 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 05:43 PM   #49
cfellows
Project of the Month Winner!!!
 
cfellows's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,876
Liked 755 Times on 484 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Just a general questions for you folks who have some experience with CNC... How important are LIMIT switches? Anybody running without them?

Chuck
cfellows is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 06:40 PM   #50
LSEW
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 44
Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts

Default

My limit switches saved me a few times, would NOT recommend skipping them unless you don't mind repairing your machine after a crash.

maury


LSEW is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Planning a drill press conversion, any thoughts? Kaleb Tools 23 04-02-2016 07:54 PM
Enco GL-30B mill/drill belts, manual? RAB Tools 5 09-18-2013 02:21 AM
SOLD Enco mill/drill SOLD gbritnell Buy / Sell / Trade / eBay 5 11-12-2011 03:37 PM
Enco's 115 drill bit sets milotrain General Engine Discussion 19 02-15-2011 10:39 PM
RF30 (Round post drill/mill mods BillTodd Machine Modifications 5 05-10-2010 10:11 PM



Newest Threads






- Top - Member List