Project of the Month built by Ghosty
Home Model Engine Machinist > Building Them > Boilers > 6" Copper HRT Boiler Build (warning, long build and lots of pictures)

Old 10-04-2012, 08:42 AM   #1
A310

Liked 8 Times on 1 Posts

Default 6" Copper HRT Boiler Build (warning, long build and lots of pictures)

Hi everyone, I'm new to model steam engines, but have decided to make a boiler to power my P.M. Research 6 CI engine. I tried to buy a boiler to power my new engine but could not find such a beast, so decided to build one instead. At first it was going to be a vertical type boiler, but after reading K.N. Harris's book several times over I decided to go for the the horizontal type. The design is similar to K.N. Harris #1 boiler, but with a few changes, mainly to be heated by a converted Coleman gas burner putting out approximatly 10,000 BTU. At the moment I'm just in the stages of getting a lathe and milling machine, which will arrive next week, so I'm turning my motorbike shop into a steam shop. Anyway here's the first of many pictures:

People Like This 
Old 10-04-2012, 06:48 PM   #2
PhilMont

Good Luck in your new endeavor.

Old 10-04-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
GYoung

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default Info request

Like your pics , especially you with the golden curls.

Could you add source of material (vendor) and specs.( nominal size and wall thickness), maybe even approx. cost of the component, please.
How about some background specs. and how you arrived at those parameters. Us old guys haven't been to school in a long time, and we need a gray matter jogger more often than naught.

Thanks and good luck on your project, I'm sure it will turn out just great.

Gene

Old 10-04-2012, 08:24 PM   #4
Dave Sohlstrom

Liked 29 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Where did you get the copper tube. Did you have to take out a second mortgage to pay for it.

Dave

Old 10-05-2012, 07:37 AM   #5
vcutajar

Liked 156 Times on 127 Posts
Likes Given: 43