Project of the Month built by Ghosty
Home Model Engine Machinist > The Tools and Tips > Metals > Which Cast Iron to use

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2016, 12:52 AM   #11
kylenlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Hey guys,
I got my cast iron rod in today. Clearly labeled on the bar it says dura-bar, it was cut before the class number stamp. All it says is class. I chopped it on the horizontal bandsaw at work into 5 equal lengths. At home it does indeed machine nicely, it break off into many tiny flakes. This weekend I'm hoping to start the boring process.
Kyle


kylenlord is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 05:49 AM   #12
petertha
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 954
Liked 187 Times on 145 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Kyle is this what you ordered?


Attached Thumbnails
1-20-2016 0000.jpg  
petertha is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2016, 12:36 PM   #13
kylenlord
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 35
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Yes that is the one that I ordered.
Kyle


kylenlord is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So you want to run cast iron pistonrings in a cast iron cilinder... frankydevaere Metals 5 02-27-2012 01:31 PM
Cast Iron jolijar Metals 42 12-24-2010 07:08 PM
cast iron cessna General Engine Discussion 4 06-17-2010 03:09 AM
Cast Iron doubleboost General Engine Discussion 2 11-04-2009 02:26 AM
Cast Iron Tin Falcon Metals 12 07-27-2008 08:16 PM



Newest Threads






- Top - Member List