Project of the Month built by TonyM

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Home Model Engine Machinist > Building Them > Mistakes, Blunders and Boo Boos > Broken a bolt in my stud

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2017, 05:30 PM   #1
JCSteam
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Darlington
Posts: 243
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 183

Default Broken a bolt in my stud

Well looks like I've made my first major cock up. After painting some of the parts on the lathe, I then set about reassembling them, this is where my mistake happened.

I was reassembling the change gears, I'd got them all on their studs and I was just adjusting the fit between the gears, I tightened the nuts down that's when I heard that unforgettable sound of metal snapping.

So now I have a threaded portion in my stud, how do I get it out?? I was thinking to drill it out and then retap will this work?


JCSteam is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 05:50 PM   #2
JCSteam
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Darlington
Posts: 243
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 183

Default

Ok sorted it! I used the broken head and carefully mated the end up, and with a bit of patients the threaded part came out enough to get my fingers on and in screw from the stud.

When I've looked inside it looks like on reassembly I've put the wrong bolt back into the wrong stud. (They were different lengths).

So some hex bar and a die, and i'll have a new bolt made up for it.


JCSteam is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 11:22 PM   #3
bazmak
BAZMAK
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
bazmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: adelaide south australia
Posts: 1,706
Liked 901 Times on 520 Posts
Likes Given: 718

Default

With the old lathes the threads are probably bsf or bsw and expensive or difficult to get hold of.Trying to make your own id also expensive unless
you have all the taps and dies etc.Dont be afraid to go to std commercial
sets and studding. Say metric and hex sock (HT 10.9 ) in cap,button,csk hd and of coarse grub screws. Where you have a worn tapped hole and if you can go up a size
bazmak is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 06:35 AM   #4
goldstar31
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,439
Liked 319 Times on 273 Posts
Likes Given: 501

Default

I agree with the BSW/BSF normal state of affairs but I would also have the 2BA kit to replace fretted and worn fasteners.

Really there is nothing but an abomination in putting old nuts and bolts back after a million adjustments over the centuries of abuse.

In the 'real' world of engineering it is usually best practice to fit new bolts.- and use a torque wrench to do it.


With impish glee, I would remind readers that Cleeve made his own socket screws. With devilish contempt, might I re-introduce the Thrupple Nut. Perhaps someone has a copy of the construction details-- LOL

Norm
goldstar31 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 11:48 AM   #5
JCSteam
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Darlington
Posts: 243
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 183

Default

Thanks Norm and Baz, I can buy taps for 2 each and dies for 3 for the smaller sizes. From Tracey tools. Just need to buy or make a tailstock holder for the dies.

I will replace eventually, as had been proved by my experience posted above I think I need to review what sizes all the bolts are and more important what the length of the bolts are
JCSteam is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 10:51 PM   #6
bazmak
BAZMAK
HMEM_SUPPORTER.png
 
bazmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: adelaide south australia
Posts: 1,706
Liked 901 Times on 520 Posts
Likes Given: 718

Default

I agree Norm,i have kept all my BA taps and dies but use them only where necessary. For small scale sizes where hex hds should be used and are commercially available.Where i can i go metric and Hex Sock
Grub screws are a must,as i find are csk. Sock and button head also look ok
bazmak is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 04:11 AM   #7
goldstar31
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,439
Liked 319 Times on 273 Posts
Likes Given: 501

Default

Of course, I also have my ME series of taps and dies in 32 and 40 TPI.

from an almost extinct Dodo

N
goldstar31 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 05:13 PM   #8
JCSteam
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Darlington
Posts: 243
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 183

Default

32 and 40 TPI are threads I'll be needing for the boiler fittings I want to make.

I take your point on the metric threads. M5 may be getting used a lot on the as well as M6 M8 ECT.


JCSteam is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing snapped stud from small split dies Cheshire Steve General Engine Discussion 17 09-04-2012 11:53 PM
help please, Tool Post Stud & Nut ML7 troll General Engine Discussion 3 02-19-2011 06:36 PM
14MM ID BOSS WITH A 12MM STUD FOR ADAPTATION TO UNIMAT 3 MILL TO HOLD COLLETCHUC 360DEGREE GEARHEAD Buy / Sell / Trade / eBay 1 04-10-2010 08:19 PM
Shoulder Bolt vs. Bolt with Sleeve ? ? magic.42 General Engine Discussion 6 02-27-2010 04:15 PM
bolt itowbig Photos and Videos 5 06-15-2008 10:29 PM



Newest Threads






- Top - Member List